Server time: 2017-08-21, 19:48

Sign in to follow this  
Nillietwelson

The Last cowboy

Howdy,

My name is Nillie T. Welson. I am the last Cowboy. Let me explain: I come from Texas, the land of What-a-burger and freedom. I was a soldier along with my wife in the Texas freedom fighters brigade. We existed for the sole purpose of protecting our beautiful homeland in case of attacks from foreign threats whether that be outside elements or even the U.S. if the situation arose. I loved my beautiful land of Bluebonnets and Bluebell, I thought I would never leave. I wasn’t going to leave, at least until that day. It was June 9th, 2015, I remember it all very vividly. The rain was pouring that evening, heavy drops. The kinda rain that’s so heavy it leaves you blind while walking in it. My daughter, Coralynn, loved playing in the rain. She was always so adorable splashing around in those puddles. We normally didn’t mind her playing outside without us, same with most Texans in that neck of the woods. Nothing ever happened, At least that’s what we told ourselves. Then, like a bolt of lightning, I heard the scream. I will never forget that sound, I imagine that’s the sound a thousand dreams dying all at once make. I ran outside as quickly as I could but it wasn’t fast enough, I was never fast enough. There she was, lifeless, like an angel that had been taken to soon. And there he was standing over her with that smile. The kind of smile that can steal a man’s soul. My soul was stolen that day. I don’t remember reaching for my gun, nor do I remember emptying the clip into him. I do remember coming to with his body lying on top of hers. I kicked him aside and gingerly picked her up to carry her inside. My tears fell upon her face as I carried her in and placed her on her bed one last time. I was never convicted of any crime, the judge called it a crime of passion or some nonsense like that. I will never know why he did it or even really how and that is my curse to carry. I tried