Server time: 2017-10-18, 00:28
Safe Zone: CLOSED

Sign in to follow this  
jhoops

is it ok to start on dayzrp if I am new to dayz

Question

jhoops    0

Is it ok to join dayzrp even though I would be completely new to dayz?      Should I play other servers first to learn or could I just rp as the guy (don't worry I would have a hopefully decent backstory) who knew almost nothing about dayz survival?    I might know basics from common knowledge.  Stuff that I would know in real life like food and water.

9 answers to this question

DeeBlack    310

Going in blind about the Survival could add to your immersion if you have to get others to teach you ect' ingame, but always learn the rules and the lore like crazy so your backstory and RP can be the best you can make it.

Yimo    4

It would help pretty well with the immersion like Dblack said, its like your trying to learn how to survive OOC, and IC :D. Just make sure to learn the F2 button haha, you will probably be doing that a lot.

Edit: Probably would be best to try and figure out the basics first, maybe read a few guides.

SatansNightOut    105

Definitely get used to the control mapping. The controls are mostly based off the Arma scheme so it's got somewhat of a unique feel that can be confusing at first. Knowing the keys is good to know for obvious reasons, but also so RP doesn't get awkward or you make a fatal mistake in a dire situation. Otherwise, I agree that not knowing anything about the "world" can make it a unique and interesting first experience. :)

But yes, learn the emotes (F keys) as stated above by Yimo.

Grihm    16

Is it ok to join dayzrp even though I would be completely new to dayz?      Should I play other servers first to learn or could I just rp as the guy (don't worry I would have a hopefully decent backstory) who knew almost nothing about dayz survival?    I might know basics from common knowledge.  Stuff that I would know in real life like food and water.