Server time: 2017-08-18, 16:37

Sign in to follow this  
Raun Paru

Joining in the Programming

Raun Paru    0

Alright, Raun here.

I'm done College in about 3 days.

Can anyone recommend resources for learning the Arma Language?

So far a search brings up all kinds of texture editing crap.

I'm an okay artist, point is, I'm finishing college for programming

I'd like to figure out what language Arma2 uses, or if it's

proprietary, where I can learn it.

I'd like to join the team as one of the couple programmers because

A) I love DayZRP.

B) I love Programming

C) I want a fancy resume/portfolio

Blizzard    0

I could help tech you the basic's. the rest im sure you will figure out yourself pretty quickly. Start with the mission editor and mess with that first. that way you learn the basic feel of arma 2 language.

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Category:ArmA_2:_Editor_Modules

the editor modules can be used to edit and change just about anything, Theres also a modules addon for arma 2 on armaholic. plus its really easy to make up you own, i could show you a few I made back in the day, there still kinda unfinished tho

Rel    0

The mod itself uses a mixture of Perl with a C-ish type syntax. It is a higher level than C itself, so it isn't really that bad. AFAIK, there exists no IDE and you pretty much just have to use a basic text editor to modify the code. I also haven't found a external compiler for mods as well (we have to essentially use the game to see if anything is wrong). There is also little to poor references and commenting to what most of the code actually is or does. The bistudio wiki is the only place where you can essentially look up type references to understand what they actually do.