Server time (UTC): 2022-09-26 13:55

Crisp gear/gear whore

If one more person asks if they can fix my gear or give me a sewing kit to use...

Hey don't get me wrong. I appreciate the offer but we are kinda living in an apocalypse if you haven't noticed. I'm wearing ruined clothes/gear for a reason.

I love gear as much as the next guy/girl but there is no need to travel around Chernarus looking like you are prepped and ready to go to a wedding or job interview. It would be one crazy wedding or interview I'm sure.

I can honestly say I remember meeting a fella Joe Kalista (Sweet Joe) when the SA server went live (kinda Olsha days and I was a pure RP noob) and was like...look at this guy in the tattered clothes. I would run into him the next day and he had the same tattered clothes on and I remember thinking to myself why doesn't he simply exchange them with pristine gear?

Because this man had survived an ordeal or two or three and his clothing displayed his struggles in which he had survived from.

I look back now and laugh at myself for thinking he was fail due to his clothing being ruined but really I was the one that was fail. Pure RP vs gear whore.

(If you have OCD tendencies you may be exempt ;))

Simply release the pursuit of gear whoring and the rp will be better I promise you that.

Food for thought

Cheers

Guest Vittoria

I wouldn't necessarily say that a "gear whore" is someone who wants to look clean. I always fix my stuff because it adds more armor to the clothing, and it bothers me with it being all dirty and cut.

You can only know a true gear whore if you played the DayZRP mod.

• Emerald

I love my gear looking beautiful.

Oi! whats wrong with being a gear whore?

"Because this man had survived an ordeal or two or three and his clothing displayed his struggles in which he had survived from."

Nice.