Server time (UTC): 2022-01-17 22:22

The descent

The back story for my character on my whitelist application wouldn't fit on the form so I shall post it in its entirety here. It is my first piece of creative writing in over ten years so I apologise if its terrible.

I've never written in a journal before but seen as my mum went to the trouble of getting me it I should at least give it a try.

I suppose I should start with how I find myself about to leave England for the mountains of a tiny eastern European country with only my friend Rich for company.

Since the end of the civil war in South Zagoria the government here has been trying to attract investment and skilled people to the country, particularly from the EU. One of their initiatives was to offer funding to universities that sent researchers for a wide variety of different things, from renewable energy to untapped mineral wealth. The latter is where I come in. I had just finished my second year of uni studying geology when I was made an offer. Spend six months surveying for coal and other precious resources in the Black mountains of Chernarus, all expenses paid for, a handsome salary and most importantly real hands on experience! Nowadays having a degree isn't exactly a guaranteed job and with my social skills or lack there of, interviewing wasn't going to be easy. This seemed like my way to stand out from the crowd.

The job isn't exactly going to be a walk in the park, we have to live in a cabin up a mountainside for six months with supplies brought in once every two months by helicopter. I grew up camping and surviving in the woods so the environment doesn't worry me. My dad served in the army for a long time and he showed me how to camp for real, no camp sites or tents just bivvy bags, minimal equipment and the knowledge that as long as I've got a good knife and steel to light fire I stand a chance. It has been a few years since I last went but we have a proper base in the cabin so it should be easy.