Server time (UTC): 2022-01-23 15:09

[The KOS rule] as it relates to taking a hostage

I realize that I am very new to the DayzRP community and I'm in fact not even whitelisted yet, but while applying to be whitelisted I noticed something that I felt could be altered to help others in understanding the hostage/victim taking aspect of the KOS rule.

The acronym KOS as far as I know stands for kill on sight, in other words shooting at a fellow player without making contact or without proper reason as stated in the rules. The exact rule

2. Killing on Sight

Definition

Killing another player must always be justified by the role playing and the actions specified in this rule; there are several situations where you can kill another player:

You have to make contact with the target before initiating a hostile action against it. You must make your hostile intention clear and unambiguous and state each demand before you can harm the victim(s) for non-compliance.

You can take revenge for a hostile action taken against you for 2 hours from the time hostile action was taken, as long as it does not conflict with the other rules.

You may only share KoS rights when you meet both of the following conditions:

You are within 500 meters of the hostile situation at that time

You were recently apart of the involved parties group.

Those who control the freedom of their victim(s) must do everything in their power to keep their victim(s) alive and in relatively good health, unless they have good in character reason to execute their victim(s). Otherwise the victim(s) may only be executed by the bandits if they do not comply with demands or if they pose a direct threat to them.

Examples and extras

Bandits have a duty of care to their victim(s) unless execution is justified and role-played, when needed you are expected to:

Leave the victim(s) with a realistic chance of survival.