Server time (UTC): 2021-10-26 11:48

Saphires' Story

There I sat at the same desk, looking at the same comms equipment, doing the same job I have been doing for the last 4 years. The guys always joke with me saying im a "nerd" or that I "tinker" around too much, But i mean come on! what self respecting geek wouldn't want the chance to play with some military hardware everyday?

As the 18E of a fire team within the 10th Special Forces Group it was always my job to make sure that no matter what, we could always communicate with our guys.the job is always the same ,It never really changes We go to some random country that the bosses tell us needs a new leader, or that the locals require military aid and we do our jobs. Some days were good (meeting the locals and eating food with them) some days were bad (ambushes and IED checks) But in the end I never really though that the worst of it would be 6 days before my discharge in a secure military base in Pennsylvania.

I always hated the Bus stop, The look, the smell, the feeling that i was some how...a lesser person just because i didn't have bars or stars on my shoulder. Worst of all It was the fact that the base didn't have much room for an E-6 Staff Sergeant inside the Carlisle war college. So i was stationed off base in some rat hole duplex adjacent to a young couple that very much loved the "express" their love on a nightly basis. Little did I know that living off base would be my gods send.