Server time: 2017-08-18, 22:17

Sign in to follow this  
Nova_Ethridge

How to create a better character

Greetings! I'm making this guide because I've seen many questions regarding roleplaying and how to get one established. Since I've been doing this for about 24 years now, I wanted to share my steps for character creation.

Step 1: The Concept

Before you start to flesh out your character, decide what the concept for your character will be. This is the overall, general theme your character follows. All characters follow a theme, but then have subtle little nuances that flesh the character out and make them more unique.

A concept could be anything from a military veteran, to a stranded fisherman, to a college student. It serves as a good starting point to develop into an interesting character.

Step 2: The Background

Now, it's time to flesh out your character's background. You don't need to get too detailed here, but it's good to know the basics. Here are some basic questions you can answer to help flesh out the character:

• Where did the character grow up?
  • Where did they go to school?
  • What were their parents like?
  • What sort of hobbies did they enjoy before the outbreak?
  • If they're not natives, how did they end up in Chernarus?

You can be a lot more detailed if you want, but it's good to at least develop a background and then use that to imagine how your character's life may have played out, and what influence that had on their personality.

Step 3: The Personality