Server time (UTC): 2021-10-21 04:44

Zombie damage...Eh...

Mace

I know it seems as if it makes the game more realistic (At least to the extent that realism can be played out in a zombie apocalypse) but the new, heightened damage for zombies is killing the playstyle for the kind of character I'd like.

Now it may just be that I'm not good at this game, I will admit I'm still what many would call a Bambi, but my character is majorly focused on using his axe, and I don't know if this is simply an issue with me, but getting in close with zombies means I'm going to get hit. The issue is that I get hit even when it looks (To me at least) like I shouldn't.

Being in the US I obviously suffer a higher ping than those closer to the server, and I often have an issue of killing a zombie who doesn't look as if he has even attacked only to suddenly flash a second later with the telltale black and white colors of damage. In the previous version of the game where zombie damage wasn't a great worry or you could at least gobble some food to try to regain what you lost, but now that four hits seems to put me in a very dangerous situation and the fact that zombies can glitch through walls and hit you when they, in all fairness, shouldn't be able to, I find that the few of us who actually LIKE to use melee weapons aren't going to be able to do so without a lot of deaths and a lot of retraining ourselves in our DayZ strategy.