Server time (UTC): 2021-10-21 05:57

The Veteran's Log

Day 0:

The names Anfauglir (not my real name – that’s classified) I’m a UK SF soldier on detached duty with US Delta Force. I’ve spent the last 6 months working in one of their Alpha teams (Wolfpack Delta) on missions all around the world dealing covertly with zombie outbreaks the local governments are too incompetent to deal with themselves. So far so good right? I must have been on at least 10 missions all in places normal people wouldn’t dream of going, never took a casualty never had a problem, then Chernarus happened.

We got the call early on a Saturday morning I remember clearly because I was due some leave to get some r&r , but hey that’s the price you pay and I loved the job.

I remember the briefing clearly this wasn’t quite the same as our usual missions, Chernarus was in the middle of a full scale civil war with a Nato intervention force in the middle but we’d been getting intelligence about unusual disappearances in the vicinity of Green Mountain so we were dispatched to confirm the presence of infection and clear it up if necessary.

Day 1:

It was 5am and pitch dark when our squad approached the compound at the top of Green Mountain, it was totally silent not even the normal night sounds. As we prepared to breach the first building I could hear the tell tale moaning and screeching and we knew the infection had spread to Chernarus .

What we didn’t know as we opened the doors was that the infection here was unlike anything we had dealt with before, the virus must have mutated to some form which didn’t impact the mobility of the victims because before we knew it the zeds were streaming out of the building, properly sprinting! All the ones we’d dealt with before were slow shuffling things that we’re easy to take down.