Server time: 2017-08-20, 02:07

Sign in to follow this  
Furlean

How to be a Chernarussian

Chernarus_flag.jpg

Hello everyone,

I've decided to make this tutorial/guide as I feel there are some players who role-play Chernarussian characters in a very incorrect way - as if they've come out of some cheap vodka bar in downtown Moscow. While this does not apply to every person who plays as a Chernarussian, over the past year, I have found a lot of 'Chernarussians' who use typical generic Russian words like 'Da' and 'Comrade' when addressing people - which really grinds my gears.

So for this guide, I would like to give some friendly advice if you wish to RP as a Chernarussian character and maybe teach you something new. I am no expert at Slavic accents or languages but I do come from a Western Slavic speaking background and understand it's culture.

Understanding Chernarussian culture:

To understand Chernarussian culture in the ArmaVerse, we must first look at the very people who made the whole ArmA series. It is crucial to understand that Bohemia Interactive has a tendency to incorporate the company's native Czech history, culture and language into their video games. This can be seen evidently in the Operation Flashpoint & Resistance Campaigns, and Arma II Red Harvest Campaign.

Chernarus: Bohemia Interactive Wikia Article

What Bohemia Interactive has effectively done is created a fictional Slavic state, and has added a mixture of real life Eastern Slavic and Western Slavic culture and language to it.

In the ArmAVerse - Chernarus is a country located on the Green Sea, roughly the same size as Luxembourg (1000 square miles), bordered by Russia to the North and Takistan to the West. It sits on a peninsula that extends into the Black Sea.