Server time: 2017-10-22, 21:10
Safe Zone: OPENING SOON

Sign in to follow this  
Eluxa

Revenge Time Limit

Eluxa    0

This rule has been plaguing me ever since I started playing about 2 months ago.

Several people tried explaining to me the logic behind this rule and I still didn't understand. The rule states that you pretty much have an ultimatum of 2 hours to take revenge upon a person(s) who legitimately provoked you IC to wanting to kill them - for example, robbing or injuring you. The rule also gives the other party an ultimatum of 15 minutes before they could log out of the server, pretty much giving you 15 minutes to try and find them.

I oppose this rule, primarily because it contradicts one fundamental concept, and that is common sense. When I made this claim in TS, the explanation I received was that this rule is meant to prevent people from running personal vendettas that could last a while.

Why? What is so bad about trying to get back at a person who made your survival, as if it's not hard enough, even harder? I mean, it makes perfect sense that a clan that has made a habit of robbing settlements like Prud, could suffer from the consequences the next time they're seen in the vicinity of that settlement. It's not like these things are going to last forever, eventually one of the parties is probably going to get killed and then, the NLR kicks in.

Plus, this will give people a nice incentive to think twice before robbing someone. I personally haven't been robbed that often, but other people that I met were. IMO, right now, people are too trigger-happy when it comes to robberies. I mean, what's there to it? You just set up an ambush or follow somebody until you got them where you want them. After you're done, you run off and hide for 15 minutes and then log, then come back after 2 hours like nothing happened.