Server time (UTC): 2023-02-04 12:07

Suggestions for finding civilization?

Hey everyone. I'm going to be honest, I'm completely lost.

For the past two hours I've been sat prone, in a bush smashed up against a tree, staring desperately at a road hoping someone will drive by. One person I believe ran by, but he was being chased by about twenty zeds, so I thought it best to not intervene as I have no weapons, food, or water. Every house I've approached was either covered in zeds, empty, or closed off.

In short, how in the world can I figure this out and not, you know, die cold and alone and thirsty? I've looked for signs but there are none around for me to be able to tell where I am.

I'm completely new to DayZ, and was just wondering if there was an easier way to navigate without a map or GPS.

Pick a direction to follow and start running that way. Follow roads where you can, you're more likely to bump into people. If you come across a village, crouch and start to walk into it, to try and find enterable houses. You should find yourself some decent things to keep you going. But always stick to roads, if you want to interact with people. That's the easiest way of finding people.

Guest BoobManReub

Staying put won't get you anywhere, you need to keep moving. I suggest playing on a few normal DayZ servers to get the gist of things before RP'ing, but it'd be interesting to get used to the game while in character. Stick to roads, and look for a map

I actually kind of wanted to get used to the game in RP mode. My character is a scientist (Like me, woo!), and I know that I personally only have the basic survival skills that common sense lends me. I want myself, and the character, to actually go through learning the ropes.