Server time (UTC): 2019-11-22, 08:41
Sign in to follow this  
IrishChris88

Racism in game.

Hello all. I've been playing this server for little over a month. I am new to RP and to DayZ .... kind of. However, I want to get people's thoughts on an in-game issue which I feel strongly about that I have encountered alot despite the fact I am a new community member. So, I have met a variety of people in game, most of who have engaged in some excellent RP and has made my experience on the server a positive one. I'm genuinely enjoying the experience but there's something that I believe is fundamentally wrong with the rules section. I was playing one night with my friend. We were being held up by members of Anarchy (the gang I love to hate and who have created an interesting story on the server). During a recent role play scenario, my friend was subjected to repetitive racial slurs. He was called a "black person"(we know the word) and someone sang "I'm an Alabama black person (we know the word) and I wanna be free!" down the headset numerous times because my friend's character was an African American. He is an African American in real life. I found it very hard to listen to and my friend became quite annoyed and to be honest, upset by it too.

To my surprise, when I went to report or persue this issue, I was informed that this kind of thing is allowed and not condemned on this server. I am sorry but .... THIS IS WRONG. 

This server is used by people from all around the world and by people who love to game and like to relax and play video games. We all play to chill and escape real world bullshit. The fact that anyone who is different can be subjected to this is wrong (I don't care if this happens in real life or if it is considered RP banter, it shouldn't be condoned).

Why is it allowed? Why do people do it? And why do we accept it when it happens?

If this server is really about RP and for everyone, then it be should reflected in its rules.